Work Zone Accidents in New Jersey
Work zone accidents are defined as accidents or crashes that occur within the signed boundaries of a work zone or at the entry and exit of a work zone in a work zone are an ongoing danger. Nationally, the rate of work zone crashes has increased by over 45% since 2013. [INSERT A HYPERLINKED FOOTNOTE 2013-2015 data from NHTSA National Automotive Sampling General Estimates System (NASS/GES). NHTSA retired NASS/GES at the end of 2015. 2016-2020 data from NHTSA Crash Report Sampling System (CRSS)]. In New Jersey, there were over 4,000 work zone collisions in 2019.
Workers, law enforcement personnel, and other motorists traveling through a work zone are all at risk due to the complex traffic conditions and sudden changes in speed. If you have been injured in a work zone accident recently, contact our firm for a free consultation to discuss the details of your potential case. We have the knowledge and experience to help you get the results you deserve and have obtained numerous excellent results in automotive and construction site injury cases including a $3.7 million settlement for highway work zone injuries.
Common Types of Highway Work Zone Accidents
Work zone accidents often involve angle, rear-end, and head-on collisions with a pedestrian or other vehicle. Over 30% of work zone accidents involve large commercial trucks and nationally and the size of commercial trucks makes them especially dangerous. We have obtained excellent results in cases involving negligent operation of a commercial truck including a $5 million settlement for a client who suffered severe spinal injuries after being struck by a tractor trailer and $1.875 million settlement for a truck accident on the New Jersey Turnpike.
How to File a Work Zone Accident Claim
Like any other personal injury claim, to file a claim for a work zone accident you must complete a complaint. You must also complete a Civil Case Information Statement and provide a check or money order in the amount of $250, which constitutes a filing fee. You should make three copies of each form. Two copies will be sent to the court, and the other is for your own personal records. You may deliver these papers to the court clerk in person, or you may mail them.
There are two ways to have your complaint served in New Jersey. First, you can use a sheriff’s officer in the county where the action is filed to serve your complaint. You can also use a private process server or any adult with no connection or financial interest in the case.
Remember, you must file your complaint within the applicable statute of limitations. For personal injury claims for adults, the statute of limitations is two (2) years from the date of the injury or accident and, for minors, within (2) years of the child’s 18th birthday.
You should also be aware that there are unique rules when suing governmental entities like the State of New Jersey, counties, or municipalities. We highly recommend consulting with an attorney who can provide insights into the legal process. A lawyer can help you evaluate the details of your case, not only determining if you have one, but also the value of your case. Our firm has extensive experience successfully litigating a wide variety of personal injuries matters for our clients. In 2004, our firm was able to obtain a $14.7 million settlement for our client who suffered from Complex Regional Pain Syndrome after a car ran over her foot in a Mercedes dealership in Englewood. We also were able to settle a case for $12.75 million for our client, who was hit by a New Jersey Transit bus while crossing the street. This is believed to be one of the largest settlements ever paid by New Jersey Transit.
Have a Work Zone Accident Claim? Contact Mazie Slater
When you hire a personal injury lawyer, you need someone who you can trust to successfully handle your case until the very end. We have a long track record of successfully litigating automobile, highway work zone, and construction site lawsuits. For a free consultation contact us at (973) 228-9898.